Hagen Smith wins SEC Pitcher of the Year; Other Hogs win SEC Honors

By Alyssa Orange
on 2024-05-20 13:22 PM

FAYETTEVILLE, AR (Pig Trail Nation)- Arkansas junior Hagen Smith named the SEC Pitcher of the Year on Monday, according to a release be the SEC. The post-season awards are voted on by the league head coaches.

During his junior campaign, Smith broke Arkansas’ career strike out record, holds a current 9-0 record, and leads the nation with a 1.52 ERA.

Arkansas’ Smith earns Collegiate Baseball First-Team All-American status

He is the third Arkansas pitcher to win the award following Nick Schmidt in 2006 and Kevin Kopps in 2021.

Arkansas pitcher Hagen Smith tabbed Perfect Game preseason All-American

Other Razorbacks winning post-season honors include: 2nd baseman Peyton Stovall and short stop Wehiwa Aloy named to the 2nd Team. Gabe Gaeckle and Nolan Souza named to the Freshman All-SEC Team, and Jared Sprague-Lott and Peyton Holt named to the SEC All-Defensive Team.

From the Greenwood Bulldogs to the Arkansas Razorbacks: The Journey of Peyton Holt

Arkansas starts the post season at the SEC Tournament in Hoover on Wednesday.

(Last updated: 2024-05-20 13:22 PM)