Live Blog: Arkansas takes on Grambling to begin 12-game baseball home stand

By Dudley E. Dawson
on 2024-02-27 15:12 PM


Arkansas will begin a 12-game baseball home stand on Tuesday looking to get its bats going to help out its vaunted arms.

The Razorbacks (5-2) will host Grambling (1-6) with the first pitch slated for 3 p.m with the telecast slated to be streamed by SEC-plus.

Arkansas won two of three games at the Kubota College Baseball Series over the with starter Hagen Smith, Brady Tygart and Mason Molina combining to throw 17 scoreless innings in which they allowed just a total of three hits.

But the hitters struggled and are hitting just .248 in the seven games while leaving 64 runner on base, a frustrating stat to Razorback head coach Dave Van Horn.

“Offensively, we weren’t swinging the bat worth a darn all weekend,” Van Horn said. “I think it put a lot of pressure on our pitchers and they did a tremendous job.

Molina was asked about the offense’s frustration.

“I mean, you hope for it (runs), but it’s nothing that you can get mad about,” Molina said. “You have no control over it. You worry about the stuff you can do which is pitching, putting up zeros and limiting the big innings.

“I feel like we did a good job of that this weekend and we’re going back with a good building block of that, but the hitters, they’ll get going. We’re not worried about that at all. Right now, it’s just a little slow.”

Arkansas will send freshman Colin Fisher (1-1, 0.00 in 7 1/3 innings) to the mound to start Tuesday’s game.

Grambling counters with Carlos Peguero (0-1, 11.57 ERA in 4 2/3 innings).

Arkansas catcher Hudson Polk is getting his first start of the season in today’s game.

Grambling freshman CF Martavius was a multi-sport star at Camden Fairview and a one-time Razorback commit.

Grambling (1-6)

Kyle Walker 2B
Tiger Borom LF
Cameron Bufford 3B
Demarkus Smiley C
Julian Murphy DH
Ashton Inman 1B
Trevor Hatton RF
Jose Vargas SS
Martavius Thomas CF

Carlos Peguero P

Arkansas (5-2)

Will Edmunson CF
Kendall Diggs RF
Ben McLaughlin 1B
Jared Sprague-Lott 3B
Hudson Polk C
Wehiwa Aloy SS
Jayson Jones LF
Peyton Holt 2B

Colin Fisher P

Top 1:

Fisher P

Walker P-4

Borom F-7

Bufford BB

Smiley K

Arkansas 0, Grambling 0

Bottom 1

(Last updated: 2024-02-27 15:12 PM)